Pseudo-savvy: Blindfolded to brand-names.

The “brand-savvy”  are very conscious of the image they exude – it’s in the job description I believe, to be hyper-aware of how you measure up against the people around you (and to let the people around you know that you’re measuring).

I travelled to New York City recently, and on the stereotypical city tour the guides took us down to Broadway and SoHo and pointed out glamour-hyped stores that we should supposedly be dying to shop in.

“And ladies, this store’s for you! Five floors of shoes – Chanel, Loubouttin, Prada – go crazy in there!” They said.

I’m pretty sure that they knew most of us (themselves included) couldn’t afford to loiter outside one of those establishments, let alone purchase from them – but, oh man, did they talk about those places as if they were regulars. As if they had the cash lying around to casually purchase a $200 scarf and still have leftovers for some Starbucks. As if.

I might not have gone into the actual stores, but I saw in through the windows and that was good enough to give me scope to draw judgement about how much we hype up brands and brand-names.The people in the $200-scarf store still were dragging around whining children, trying to squeeze into pants that were too small and instagramming pictures of cute blouses on mannequins. But, by the way the people outside the store were ogling them you’d think they each came out having purchased an extra year of life, instead of just a shirt.

What chafes my nerves more is the adoration that these over-priced, under-valued objects get. It’s not education or health you’re paying a small fortune for ladies and gents, it’s a handbag. Congratulations. If, for every time a brand-name was admired, an educated person got accolades as well, the world would be absurdly different. I’d go as far as to to say it would be unrecognizable. Perhaps even better.

Moral of the story:

Dress well, live large, eat luxuriously – but don’t be fooled into thinking that you can only do it if brands are attached to everything you own – or, that other people are doing it better than you are because of the brands they own. Call me “pseudo-savvy”, but at the end of the day, the cucumber sold in a $15 salad appetizer from Chez-whatever is the same as the cucumber in my bagel from Tim Hortons.

What impresses me most is resourcefulness and intelligence. I wonder if Nike makes them in my size.

2 thoughts on “Pseudo-savvy: Blindfolded to brand-names.

  1. I just joined 8tracks. Yours was the first mix I tried and it’s great! Then I saw a link to your blog and that got me here. I’ve got to say I like how you write as well. Plus I’m a little bit of all the things you write about – the Classy, the Creative, the Literary and the Nerdy. Glad I found this page. Following! 🙂

  2. Thank you so much! That’s the biggest compliment! I love writing about books and music just because they’re so relatable to everyone 🙂 A little bit of nerdiness keeps things very interesting!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

